Dimple Shibin – A music profoundly based in personal style

INTRODUCTION

Dimple is our pick from Smulecommunityin featured singers. Dimple is an amazingly talented singer with a professional touch in presenting her profile with a flair of artistry. She presents her music with a great taste of entertainment value. Entertainment and music in the modern age are all about how a singer presents their music and an emphasis on its entertainment value can not be understated. Dimple’s profile is an excellent example of her tasteful presentations. Moreover, the person that we see from her profile is even more adorable to the extent that the core of her music reflects her personal attributes. Many times Dimple herself says “My music has a long way to go, in comparison to many you guys write and feature.” Yet, she knows her strengths and makes the best use of it in her song choices and presentation. 

Dimple Shibin

We are so happy to add Dimple’s profile to a line of  featured young singers with an emphasis on a very hard-working musician who takes her music so seriously. During the entire process of this article preparation, she made tremendous efforts to work with this presentation possible.

Tell us about yourself with references to your music 

Dimple Shibin is my name. I am a Keralite, residing in Florence, Italy, working currently as an Administrator in a University Housing Company. My native place is a small village called Palisery,  in Thrissur. I was born Chalakudy and brought up in Kannur with my parents and younger sister then moved to Thrissur. 

Take us through your earliest memories of your interactions with music as a child, all the small things made you start singing.

When it comes to Music, I would say I am a self-trained singer. I learned music during a young age that somehow was not the focus during later stages of schooling etc. Also during my childhood, I was more interested in Indian dances, like Bharatanatyam. Classical dancing is my favorite form to perform. I have participated in many school competitions in light music, recitation, patriotic music, and other dance forms.

Who influenced you the most as a child as far as your music interests and talents

When it comes to influences, I would mention my parents. They are the ones who took initiative to teach me music but as a child, they say it was hard to have me sit down for hours to learn music;  so dancing seems more exciting and fun.

Describe in detail all your stages from School, to college, and how your music evolved? and all details and memories, activities, etc 

More than singing I love listening to songs specifically if I would mention its old Malayalam and Tamil songs. The kind of relief they give me is immense. My day starts and ends with music. I just fell in love with listening, learning about the ragas, etc. A lack of knowledge in theory never stopped me from learning, it’s an ongoing process. My all-time guru in music was a teacher at my place called Manoharan, I still remember the days when he taught me the basics of music as a kid. Really miss those beautiful memories. There was always a spark in me to sing but as an orthodox family, education was given more importance. They really want us to be safe and have a secure life. Regardless, they had taken me to participate in many competitions,  church activities, and any other cultural competitions.

What exactly does your music mean to you? 

Interesting question, but to be honest I have never thought about it because it’s something unexplainable for me. In simple words, I would say It’s Divine! I am a pure listener with no boundaries. It’s always with me, within me, and which no one can take away. It’s a part of my life. The kind of relief music gives for any living being is as precious as it is.

Your views about the general landscape of India’s music

India’s music is a vast topic to discuss. As a child into this music world, I am more than happy to say that I am still a learner. Our music traditions are closely related to our social and cultural diversity. Am more interested in listening to Carnatic music and Indian movie songs. It’s more relatable to me and easy to understand. I truly believe that there is always something new to learn and it’s like a sea where you never see the end.

Your thoughts about Tamil, Malayalam and Hindi songs

Tamil and Malayalam are closely related to each other in many ways. I can proudly say that many breathtaking music and musicians have a great role to play in our entire film industry. Versatility is the focal point of every musician. We can enjoy the extreme of melody and fast numbers and many more varieties of music in all these three languages. I love singing Malayalam, Hindi and Tamil songs but I don’t fancy singing Hindi songs because I know how bad my Hindi pronunciation is. But maybe in near future, I will definitely try some Hindi songs for sure. My all-time favorite musicians are from Malayalam and Tamil. I do enjoy the music of the new era but old songs are my favorite.

World music and other language music of India.  

To speak about world music I should be that knowledgeable about it. But I truly believe that apart from being a great listener and beginner as a singer I have no depth knowledge of world music. I must try and listen to different areas of music. The only languages I listen to Indian music are Malayalam, Tamil, Hindi, and Telugu.

Social responsibility for an Artist, what do you think about it? (if not sure leave it, we can discuss this later)

In my point of view, as human beings we all are socially responsible for one another doesn’t matter what field you are into or which position you hold. Doesn’t mean that you have to physically be in the game for a change or you have to let the world know what you are doing. It can be silent which gives you mental happiness and that’s exactly what I am doing and am happy about it.

If you are a socially responsible artist will you take a stand for issues that matter?

Of course I will. If I think I want to raise my voice for problems it’s matter to society I will definitely have my word. I don’t think there’s anything wrong in doing that. The world is changing, we all have our own views and opinions and we all have that space to open up. Speaking things for a good cause makes you feel good and gives confidence for others to speak.

Dimple Shibin


An honest and grounded artist who is well aware of what her music stands for. She uses her best of abilities as a singer that highlight her singing talent; that makes a beautiful profile equally pleasant and enjoyable on Smule.

Do you think there is a gender discrimination in the music industry?

In my point of view, I never felt there is any gender discrimination in music industry. It’s all about how much effort you put in to be part of the mainstream. It requires not only singing skills but also keep updating your knowledge, contacts, being active in social media, also luck. I truly believe that if there is a will there’s away. Nowadays there are a lot of ways you can showcase your talents to the outside world so nothing stops you from doing what you like. Just create your own project and work on it until you get what you dream for. Keep trying and keep looking for opportunities. This world is meant for all.

 Do you pay attention to the lyrics and meaning of songs? Do you think they are important for music? If yes then why?

It absolutely depends on the interest of an individual. For me sometimes yes lyrics are important and I would love to enjoy the lyrics which are meaningful but on the other way in order to enjoy the music we really don’t need any lyrics. For instance, some “bgms” can take you out of the world or if I say listening to the sound of rain and thunder or forest music with waterfalls, birds’ voice, or any instrumental music doesn’t need any lyrics to enjoy.

What career ambitions you have in music. Then how are you planning to achieve it?

Honestly I never thought about anything big yet. I would love to learn as many songs in different languages and I will try to sing all those songs in near future. In addition, I thought about taking lessons in Carnatic music.  Nowadays while I sing I have started giving more importance to my style of singing, word pronunciations, and expressions which I never used to do before.

Where do you see yourself five years from now in your music?

I don’t have any bigger plans yet. But I would love to do some covers and also take some music classes.

Do you have a hobby other than singing, tell us about it.

Apart from music, my hobbies are watching tv, cooking, and being a big foodie. I also like to travel a lot. But because of the current pandemic, I spend most of my time with my family.

Now it is time to list all your favorites in music

I have been listening to a lot of Malayalam and Tamil old and new songs. My all-time inspiration is the versatile singer Chithra chechi, her crystal clear voice always amazes and M. G. Sreekumar is my other personal favorite, his unique tone in his voice is always an attraction and makes me feel magical. Many other personal favorites are Janaki Amma. Sujatha Chechi, Yesudas Sir, and P. Jayachandran Sir and many more. 

Is there anything that you want to tell us more about your music?

I would like to mention the biggest platform I ever get to perform and It’s Smule. It not only enhanced my music but also I got a lot of friends like my family. They are my biggest support system. Friends I got from Smule are the real stars who encouraged me to sing, motivates me to try different songs in different languages, also helps me to correct my style of singing, and many more. Live sessions in a Smule give me the confidence to sing on public platforms. Through this app I get to know new talents, I learned a lot from them too. The appreciation I get is my happiness and that happiness encourages me to sing more and learn more and moreover a great human being.

Songs (Dimple’s songs are selected from her Smule profile)

Manikuyile

Karimizhikuruviye

Parayathe Ariyathe

Aathagara Marame

Moham Kondu Jan

Konji pesida venam

Manjupeyana

Oru chiri kandal

Chilaboli katte

Ali pazham perukan

ENDNOTES

When we finish this article an overriding thought about this singer is that, she is honest and grounded about what her music stands for. She uses her best abilities as a singer that highlight her singing talent that makes a beautiful profile that is equally pleasant and enjoyable on Smule. Dimple has a very beautiful recordable voice that is presented very stylistically. There is a lot for many to learn from Dimple’s profile where her profile represents a person who is true to who she is, and that comes out really beautiful. We encourage all our readers to go visit her profile and encourage her music.

2 thoughts on “Dimple Shibin – A music profoundly based in personal style

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.