Subhiksha Rao- A musical Prodigy

Introduction

In our young talent series we are proudly presenting Subhiksha Rao. Thanks to our esteemed peers and their constant support Tamil/ Malayalam/ Telugu and Hindi Smule. The very purpose of these pages is to support young singers on Smule, and when we find a right candidate from a pool of proposed candidates, and work with them on a write up and make this happen here is a lot of work and effort from the singer and the people working behind this. Thanks to everyone who did a fantastic job to make this happen weeks after week.

Subhiksha is a very distinct talent we have seen from many such young talents we considered from Smule. Her maturity in singing at such a young age and the drive to achieve more in her music career separated her case from many other youngsters. Her talent as displayed through her profile on Smule is unmatched. We place her profile among one of the best of bests that we covered here in our young talent series. From a girl who was nurtured in classical music in the family to a short span of music career with tremendous understanding of India’s music and genres, Subhiksha is a very distinct singer on Smule. Without delay here is an exclusive interview with her to know more about this young talent and her career ambitions in music.

Here are links to her Social media handles

Smule- https://www.smule.com/SubhikshaRao

Insta- https://www.instagram.com/subhiksharao/

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvfCFO0nAGuxU1ZqWZdEUSQ

Please introduce yourself briefly with special references to your  music. 

I am Subhiksha Rao, 20 years old, doing my final year Bachelor degree in commerce (Hons) specializing in Taxation and Accounting in Garden City University, Bangalore . Born to parents who are classically trained, native of Srirangam, TamilNadu currently living in Bangalore. I was brought up in Muscat from birth until  2016. My father is a software engineer. Mother is a post graduate in Carnatic music. She was teaching music to many students in Muscat. I  have a younger sister who is 14 years old studying 9th grade. In 2016  after my 10th grade we moved to Bangalore.   

Subhiksha’s family

Describe your earliest memories of interactions with music as a child all those small things that may have influenced you to start singing. 

“Being born to parents who are singers, their lullabies were the introduction to my music. I have to mention this reminiscence happened during my second birthday. This was told by my parents and relatives. It is said that on that day I got a gift from someone which was a toy keyboard that attracted me more than other gifts. I started pressing the keys and matching my voice to its sound and kept on playing like this for long. As  musicians my parents were delighted to identify the spark, with the perfect synchronization of voice and notes of the keys.”

Who influenced you the most as a child?

“It might sound funny but I think I have to say this here. When  I was around five, I was watching a TV show where singer Shreya Ghoshal was performing. I was very much impressed by her  singing and became her fan. ‘Fan’ is not an apt word; I must say I  was obsessed with her singing, started collecting her pictures and was very much fond of her singing. Incidentally, when I was six I got my  baby sister and I named her Shreya. Later, I slowly started enjoying  other singers too.”

Tell us more about your classical music training. 

I actually don’t know when I started learning music. My mother was a music teacher and was teaching music to students even before I was born. Music was always heard in my house. I am learning Carnatic music till now from my  mother. Apart from vocal training, I have done two grades in keyboard from Trinity Board. But I could not continue learning further. I also have learnt Hindustani vocals for  around a year from Dr. Sanjyot Kolwadkar. Apart from my formal training, preparing for the programs and music contests gave me more training time. Recently, I have started again learning keyboard playing from Prahlad Mira academy.

How does the transition from classical singing to popular music happen? What influenced that change? 

“I have a strong opinion that any form of classical music be it Carnatic or Hindustani, can give a good foundation to all genres of music. The singer should be able to understand the style and only adaptability matters. I try my best to understand the genre and try to do justice to an extent of my abilities. Thanks to my parents who never restricted me from listening to any type of music. We used to go for long rides and listen to various types of music like Carnatic, film songs etc. Parallelly there will be discussions  regarding Ragam, background music, orchestration etc. I must say all these have influenced my music.”

Was music there at school to college stages and how your music evolved ?  

“My singing was identified by my kindergarten teachers who have made me perform at school events. When I was 7 years old I took part for the first time in a classical music contest in Indian Social Club, Muscat, which combines all the linguistic wings. It was a tough competition, where I got the first prize and was blessed to receive my recognition from the golden hands of Padmabhushan Dr. K. J. Yesudas. I must say to receive my very first  prize from the hands of a legend, I consider very lucky and blessed. That was a great start for me, followed by a series of particiaptions in contests and stage performances at school level, interschool level, linguistic wings, Indian social club and group singing contests along with my mother’s students, etc. I was also blessed to have received awards from Mrs. Vani  Jayram, Music director Pritam, Jatin Lalit in the following years. Participating in Jhankar spectrum, an inter school music contest with the  shortlisted contestants of students from schools of GCC countries. For which I won prize two consecutive years, which I consider very precious. 

I am a blessed student of Balavikas around five years where I was taught bhajans and shlokas. I was given a lot of opportunities to lead the Bhajan concerts. At the age of fourteen, I did my first solo concert along with a live orchestra, mainly film songs, which was also a sponsored event. I was also fortunate next year to got featured in Janam TV (Malayalam  channel) in five episodes in their premier program called Voice of Oman.  

After my 10th Boards we moved back to India and now I am settled in Bangalore, India. It took some time for me to adapt to the new atmosphere, I was unknown in the new place and the school was also focusing only on academics. So there was a break for a couple of years. It was after joining my current college, at fresher’s day followed by some stage performances that brought me out of that break.”

“The global online singing contest – SINGINSRUTI was a great  platform after that gave me a chance to start singing. Where ~ five hundred participants from all over the world took part and it consisted of eight rounds in different genres. In both the seasons, I was one of the finalists. This has given me good recognition and back to full normal singing regularly. Few months back, I was asked to send a recording of an  inauguration song for the Rotary club of Bangalore. It gives me immense pleasure when my singing was appreciated by the Honorable Chief Minister of Karnataka, Mr. Yediyurappa.

Most memorable moment in your music life. 

“I can’t say any single memorable moment, as there are many. I cherish each and every successful stage performance, winning contests, singing with talented co-singers on Smule.”  

What exactly does music mean to you? 

Music has been a major part of my life. I like to sing in solitude and forget myself. According to me music works best with intuitions and ear training. Self-learning and exploring music is as important as formal training; this will help us to identify our  strength and areas to improve. The collection of trophies and  bunch of certificates are only sweet memories. According to me, my present singing should speak. I wish to see progress in every song of mine.”

Your views about the general landscape of India’s classical music. 

“Carnatic music is a perfect systematic form of music from the beginning level to the advanced level. To my knowledge, no other music worships and celebrates the great composers like the Trinities * are celebrated here. The Thyagaraja Aradhana celebrated in Thiruvaiyaru and other places, the musical tribute given by all the musicians to Saint Thyagaraja by singing the Pancharathna Krithis together is an emotional moment for all  the musicians who worship the art in the form of Goddess Saraswati.  

While the basic level is formulated systematically with raga classifications and 72 Melakartha, the concert form needs years of training to render ragam, tanam, pallavi and kalpana swaras.  Hearing and understanding of the swara bedham incorporated in the raga alapana itself requires profound knowledge. Hindustani music is also very rich with aalaps and swara also gives importance to voice culture. 

The best part about Indian classical music, though it has evolved from time to time, still confined to its aesthetics. I strongly believe classical music plays a major role in preserving the rich culture of India.”

Your thoughts about popular music or film music.  

Composing for film music requires profound musical knowledge. Playback singing requires proper vocalization as well as dynamics. Semi-classical and melody are my favorite genres. I also enjoy hearing and singing foot tapping, western style and folk style of songs too. I like to listen to songs of all languages, though most played in my house is Tamil film music. Regarding Tamil film music, at present I feel the melody  aspect is slightly on the lesser side compared to how it was before 2000. It could be because of the taste of listeners too. I am  surprised many times when ordinary songs become more popular, while songs with high musical value are not. There are talented composers like D. Imman who gives good music among new age music directors. 

Any thoughts on world music and other language music of India ? 

“In my school days, I used to perform Western Music programs and won prizes in contests. I used to sing Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Brittney Spears and Taylor Swift songs. I am more familiar with India’s music, nowadays I like to sing India’s film songs, based on western and arabic style. In Carnatic music, I sing mostly in Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Sanskrit. I have sung film songs of all the south Indian languages and our official languages Hindi. Many languages is easy for me.” 

If I say Social responsibility for an Artist, what do you think about it?  

“While social responsibility is important for every citizen, it is much more important for an artist. As they are popular there will be fans following them. They have to be more conscious about what they speak and do in the public. An artist can easily spread social awareness through their art and popularity.”

If you are a socially responsible artist, will you take a stand if you can influence a decision taken at political and other levels? 

“Politics has always been discussed and is a topic of debate in my house. I am too-young to give an opinion or criticize right now; though I am very aware of political happenings. I think it is more important for me to be a responsible citizen. Influencing the political decisions or entering into politics is not my cup of tea right now. “

Do you pay attention to the lyrics and meaning of songs? Do  you think they are important for music? If yes then why? 

“Yes, lyrics and the meaning of the songs are very important. They form the body of any song, while music is the soul. I personally think that a song can be taken to the next level by giving proper expressions to it and expressions have a lot to do with lyrics. When I began singing, I was not very keen about the meaning, but recently I have developed the practice of understanding the lyrics of whatever language the song is in. I have sung songs in Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Hindi, Malayalam and English. Out of these, except Malayalam, I can speak all others. Even when I sing in Malayalam I try to relate the meaning of the lyrics with my mother tongue Tamil and understand and pay more attention to the diction.”

What career ambitions do you have in Music? How are you  planning to achieve it? 

“I want to learn Carnatic Music more deeply at an advanced  level. A Masters Degree in music is my dream apart from my aim of becoming an entrepreneur. I am equally interested in film music as well. I will be extremely happy to take up music as a career, as a performer and also as a trainer. “

If a marriage comes will you give up a prospective career in music? 

“I don’t know whether this question is asked to male singers as well. I am too young to answer this question right now but I will try to answer. I will be grateful to God if I get an understanding life partner. My contribution to music will always be there as a performer or as a trainer. Even if, nothing happens, I will at least be a supporter of another upcoming musician.”

Where do you see yourself five years from now in your music?  

I believe luck is an equally important factor to become a musician, apart from talent. Future is not certain. Present is omnipresent. I am very careful not to build huge expectations. Whether, it is 5 years or 10 years, I will always be into music and keep on learning. 

Now it’s time to listen to list all your favorite musicians.

Singers :Carnatic Music Female: Ranjani Gayathri: It is a general opinion of many that  Carnatic musicians do not pay attention to voice culture.  While the present musicians have broken the opinion,RaGa sisters are the epitome of voice culture. 

Chandana Bala Kalyan: She is a performer of both Hindustani and Carnatic who has a very enthralling voice. In my opinion she is much underrated for her high standard of musical knowledge. 

I have other favorite singers too like Bombay Jayshree and Sudha Ragunathan. I am a huge fan of the soulful  singing of late Smt. M. S. Subbulakshmi.  

Male- I like the highly knowledgeable presentation of Abhishek Raghuram and Sanjay Subramanian.  

Playback  Female P. Susheela- I consider her as the best I have heard  so far.  K.S. Chitra- She is a role model for all the aspiring singers  for the sweet vocalizations. S. Janaki- Her voice dynamics are unbeatable. I also like Vani Jayram, LataJi and of course my idol Shreya Ghoshal for the sweetness and flow of singing. 

Male  Dr. K. J. Yesudas- The world’s best and powerful voice  according to me. S. P. Balasubramanian – Like Janakiamma in female, SPB sir is versatile and the best for voice dynamics. Hariharan – I like his sweet vocalizations as well as his  spontaneous improvisations on stage. Shankar Mahadevan- I like him for his outstanding  singing and the voice throw in the highs.  Among the young present singers my favorites are Sid Sriram and Arijit Singh. 

Music directors 

My most favourite Music director is Ilayaraja sir. My  other favourite music directors of old songs are KV  Mahadevan and MS Viswanathan. In the present I like  Vidyasagar, ARRahman and D Imman. 

Favourite genre of music: My most favourite genres are Carnatic and film songs of  semi classical and melodies.

Do you do any sports ? If so which one ? If not which hobby  you have ? 

“I am not a serious sports person, though I just play badminton and table tennis as a time pass. I like to watch cricket.  In this lockdown period, I started learning yoga. Initially I was very reluctant, but slowly I developed interest. It helps me overcome my breath management while singing. My friends have observed in my recent recordings with better breath control than before. My all-time favorite hobby since childhood is voiceover /dubbing. I used to mute the cartoon shows and give voiceover to it. Now also I do voice over in Smule. I also like to read books, though not a voracious reader, I prefer to read  books of my favorite authors.”

Is there anything left we missed to ask you that you want to tell us about? 

“I have to mention my Smule experience here. I have  been on Smule for about one and half years but didn’t sing frequently till  April this year. After becoming the finalist of “Singinsruti” season-2, I  got to know many of my co-finalists and sang along with them and  got many other friends on Smule. I am basically a quiet and shy  person, but my Smule friends are very friendly, encouraging and cheerful. Many are my well-wishers giving constructive suggestions through personal messages to improve my singing. I see myself coming out of my shell and have attempted to sing songs that are out of my comfortable zone. My college friends and peers also have observed the changes in me.”

Here are few of the hand picked songs of Subhiksha. Please do listen.

One of the songs that featured in Janam TV (Kartril Varum geethame)     

Azhagan Muruganidam   

Singaara velene

Chandu Thottile      

Ghazhal(Kuch rishtey-Shreya Ghoshal)

Shankara Nadha Shareera para  ( Tribute to SPB)

Duets with peers and Smule friends

En Mel vizhunda mazhai thuliye -Karthik Krishna Jayaram

Kuhu Kuhu bole Koyaliya – Sourajit Ghosh  

O Rangrez – Rahul Mars   

Mounamana Neram – Pradeep Somasundaram 

ENDNOTES

When finish writing about Subhiksha and her short span of an illustrious music life, it is so amazing that in such a short period she could do so much to understand India’s music with such maturity. Her thoughts on the prominence of Carnatic music and Hindustani for better understanding and performing India’s music, that too coming from a youngster such mature thoughts, is a feat to celebrate for us. 

Subhiksha’s music is nurtured from a very young age itself by her family members is the primary reason for her growth. Despite all that a drive to pursue her music interests beyond a classical background was the most outstanding aspect we thought made Subhiksha achieve more in her career. A blessing from many great singers is there with this singer. We want to say it was a pleasure to have this singer be a part of our pages and we want to support her music and ask every one to visit her Smule profile and follow her and listen to more of her songs on other social media handles as well. See the links at the beginning of this document.

REFERENCES

* The trinity of Carnatic music: Thyagaraja, Muthiswami Dikshitar, Shyama Shastri -these three composers are known as the Trinities of Carnatic music https://www.indiavideo.org/text/trinity-carnatic-music-1556.php

Panchatantrakritis – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pancharatna_Kriti

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.