Pradip Somasundaran- Meri Awaaz Suno

Introduction

This is a very happy moment for the blog site to write about a long time waiting feature on Pradip Sir. A great mentor to many on Smule and an accomplished professional singer. Pradip Somasundaran is a very strong presence on Smule India for several years now. We wrote a very small section on his Smule presence in a article introducing celebrity singers on Smule. Read it here if you have missed it.

In our efforts to give insights from singer profiles on Smule who are accomplished professional singers, we are bringing here a very inspiring life story of Pradip Sir, who dared to dream big, and was ready to face the struggles ahead. During these past weeks, when we were publishing a series of these biographical sketches of singers who found success in music profession, the common thread in all those stories look very similar. We will talk about all that in our concluding remarks.

In this account, we get to read and know a very exciting and inspiring account of a life and struggles in pursuit of love of his life, music. We take a moment to thank Pradip sir, for his time and warm friendship to the efforts here. He is a part of the blog team in all his spirits through this whole time. Thanks a lot for that.

His other social media links here

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pradip_Somasundaran

https://www.facebook.com/pradipsomasundaran/

Pradip Somasundaran

“Pradip Somasundaran, that is my name. Most of the earlier part of my life, I grew up exclusively in north India, exactly in Gujarat and Assam. My father was an engineer working for ONGC, Ltd. Due to the nature of his job, my childhood was a lot of moving to places. My mother was a school teacher.” 

“To recapitulate my early interactions with music; where my music came from and my parents and their influences:

“My mom, she writes a lot of poetry, and my father said to be a good singer, as per my mother; but sadly I never heard him sing even once in my whole life. I was very inclined to listen to various music very early itself. My main sources were from radio stations like Ceylon Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) and All India Radio. This was about the age of seven to eight years. I will say, I did not see myself as a singer, until we settled back in Kerala; that was when my dad accepted a job in the Gulf and moved over there for his work.”

In Kerala, I studied at NSS Public School, Thrissur and could say that is where I first started my musical activities. We were staying in a rented house and our house owner, a lady named Padmam (herself is a good singer I still remember she belonged to a famous Political family in Kerala) was my first teacher. She started teaching me film songs and made me ready for singing on stages at my school. She used to be very knowledgeable and her encouragement is what made me concentrate on my singing talent along studies. A famous Malayalam song “Innenikku Pottukuthan” was one of the songs I still remember from those days that she trained me to perform on stage.” Pradip sir pauses his conversation for a short at those memories.

“A subsequent move to a our own home from the rented place is when I found my very first Carnatic music teacher Geeta Rani. That is when I seriously started to learn music. When I reached high school age, studies took a major seat of priority and music was there but did very little practice etc.”

 With Malayalam music director Vidyadharan master

My pre-degree and degree studies were at Sree Kerala Varma college Thrissur. The college environment was very exciting with a lot of activities in music. I must say that environment hugely benefited me artistically grow. It was a place with a lot of opportunities to perform in musical events. The opportunities to perform and sing in many youth festivals and college functions is where I formed my earliest stage performing skills.”

Interactions with proponents of Lalitha Sangeetham

“Later, I joined Andhra University for M.Sc (Tech) Electronics at Visakhapatnam and started learning music from two blind sisters ( for a very short period Satyavada Sisters) which was a different experience in itself. Later, I was accepted by Tirupati Ramanuja Suri who is a renowned Violinist/Vocalist and a senior staff of AIR Vizag. (read references in about his Guru who is a proponent of semi-classical music, called Lalitha Sangeetham). He taught me Telugu light music along with Classical vocals.

“It was around this period, that I participated in AIR National Music competitions and came out in second place in Light Music Vocal and won the President’s medal. AIR subsequently upgraded me to B-High grade level artist in the same year. During my stay, in Vizag I did a lot of local gigs and many stage shows. I sang on stage, Telugu lead Hero Nageshwara Rao‘s film songs for local audiences and I still remember the love the locals showered upon me after the performances. It was a confidence building stage where I constantly performed for live audiences and got a lot of appreciation from Telugu people.”

“I went on to represent Andhra University in the South Zone Inter University festivals held at Calicut. Also competed in the National Inter University Youth festivals  at Madurai in 1991 and won prizes in both classical and light music at the zonal and National levels. In a national event happened in Kerala, getting recognition representing another University outside of Kerala and being a Malayalee was a big news those days.”

“At that time my parents were staying for my other siblings’ studies at Coimbatore. So after my Post graduation I joined them and took a job as a lecturer at SNR Son’s College, Coimbatore. But, music was my almost every day dream by then.”

K. J. Yesudas a strong inspiration

So far from what we heard, you always went to find good training during your entire growing up. What was your motivation to seek training?

“I always yearned for perfection in singing, and I knew classical training will help me. I also took light music classes during that time.”

What was your pivotal moment before you actually got your playback opportunity?

“It all happened through my good friends. A good College friend called Surendran knew Malayalam film actor Mala Aravindan. He was the one who introduced me as a young singer with playback ambitions to the then famous Malayalam actor. My friend called me to meet with Mala Aravindan and when I sang for him he was so impressed. I am so grateful that he remembered me next time when he was going back to Chennai for a film shoot. He invited me over to go with him to Chennai and promised to introduce me to music director Ravindran sir.”

A helping hand from a Malayalam movie actor, Mala

“On the day of meeting with him I was almost petrified and lost all I knew because the music director who wrote and composed Pramadavanam was really somebody to impress.With all prayers, I went with Mala chettan to sing in front of him”

“The meeting with Ravindran Sir was arranged In Chennai at Brownstone’s apartment. When I entered, there were few musicians and Ravindran sir sitting on a bed with his harmonium and playing some tunes for an upcoming movie Champakulam Thachan. He asked me to sing some pure Carnatic music and I sang a varnam in Kalyani, and Malayalam film song “Nila nadiyude”. He was impressed and when I came out Mala chettan told me Ravindran sir is so impressed and asked me to follow up by sending some recorded songs when I get back home to Ravindran sir.”

“In all this story, I have to say how simple a human being Mala chettan is. Despite being a great movie actor, we both spend some great time together in Madras. We went together for dinner at the local Thattukada and also went to watch a Tamil movie together at a main movie theater in Chennai. Half way through Mala chettan went to sleep and we got out early from there and went back to hotel and next day I came back home with a lot of excitement about the opportunity to sing for Ravindran sir. Back home the very first thing i did was to recorded a few of my songs in a local studio and sent them to the music director.”

A focus and decision to move to Chennai

“I wanted to move to Chennai and with the help of my dad’s contacts I found a job as a sales engineer. Although it was not my cup of tea, being in Chennai was the key to get to my dreams of becoming a playback singer. I moved to Chennai after a brief training in a remote part of north India. I first lived far from the film city with my dad’s friend. Later I moved myself into a rented place near Adyar Kalakshetra. There was a house next to my house belonging to famous music director, K.V. Mahadevan where K. J. Yesudas used to stay. I always peeked into the house while I drove by hoping Dasettan might be there and I got a chance to meet him.”

A life time association with Music director Ravindran

“Meanwhile, I regularly made calls to Ravindran sir. It was the only contact and the only one I cherish the most in Chennai film city. I knew that would be my best bet. After many months, one day I got a call from Ravindran sir and asked me to come to AVM-G studio. He said I have to sing a track for a film song already assigned to Dasettan and Chitra. The recording studio was so magnanimous I still remember the giant screen inside for dubbing for films. The song was from a Malayalam movie called Ezhuthachan called Samayam Manoharam. It was a duet with another female singer Sangeetha. When we finished recording we had no clue it would turn out to be my first music for playback.”

We talked about Raveendran master the music director during many occasions. Here is a short piece of interview revealing his simplicity and life views and great voice. Language in this video is Malayalam.

First Playback singing for Raveendran

When finished recording we came out and were waiting outside if the music director needed more help. We could see them discussing and then Ravindran sir came and said let us hear what you sang. He thought we could sing it better. So with a lot more effort we sang the whole song again and recorded. After that second recording, Ravindran sir called both of us and said the never expected news that he is accepting my recording for the movie. Then he gave a press conference to then famous film music magazines and let the news out that he was introducing two new singers through this movie. I was over cloud nine. 

A Chennai film Industry life

“It was a great time that I spent with that great musician, and did a  lot of tracks for him. He insisted that I move to a closer house next to his residence. Me and another struggling film producer shared a two bedroom house next to his residence. This made it easy for me to be in touch with the best of best in the industry. I sang a few more playback songs, major ones are with Johnson master, MG Radhakrishnan and S.P. Venketesh. Pazham tamizh paattu and Oru Murai Vandhu parthaya from classic Malayalam movie Manichitratazhu were first recorded in my voice as tracks for K.J Yesudas by M.G Radhakrishnan.”

We will cover his major songs from a career spanning 20 yrs at the end of this feature. 

A world experience on a Cultural crew trip

“I had gone through the strangest paths in life; it was Ravindran sir who encouraged me to participate in an government sponsored youth exchange program “Ship for World Youth“(SWY). I am still an active member of this initiative. This program gave me an opportunity to travel to Japan and many other countries in a two month cruise ship and participate in many youth activities with youth came from thirteen other countries. At the end of return from the trip, my regular job was gone. But I don’t regret anything then and now, the kind of experiences that I had during that time. It made me a mature singer and see the world.”

Back to Kerala

The loss of a job in Chennai, forced me to come back to my home town in Thrissur and I decided to find a regular job. Because I was very sure by then my music career alone will not fetch me a livelihood. I took a job at IHRD (A Govt. of Kerala Establishment) as a lecturer and this has been my job ever since. But looking back I am happy I stick to it, because that is what helped me support myself and my family, yet pursue a very volatile music career.”

Destiny for Greatness- Meri Awaaz Suno

Then came my most significant time in life where my music talent was recognized and be able to in front of a Nation through TV show called “Meri Awaaz Suno“. I sent an audition tape and was invited to Mumbai, Juhu, for an onsite audition. The challenges were multiple: living in Kerala and telling my parents about the need to get there in a short span of time. The very first reaction from them was to forget about it. The audition dates were just a few days ahead and I had to find money for an Air ticket to get there on time. My friends and my father finally helped me to get a flight ticket to go there.”

” I still remember the crowd at the auditions were overwhelming and intimidating. Contestants came from all over India, some of them even came there prepared with their gurus; seeing all thee I lost all my confidence. More over, my pressures back home were eating my thoughts. On the audition day, I was feeling the least of my spirits. The judges were Sanjeev Kohli (son of music director genius Madan Mohan ji) and Pamela Chopra wife of Yash chopra herself (The producer of the show). 

“After the audition I was almost sure I would not get through with all the pressures. I went back to my relatives place and was feeling miserable and thoughts about going back home with failure were killing me. At about evening, there was a call from the “Meri Awaz Suno” organizers. I could not believe it, they are asking me to get back to the hotel because Pamela Chopraji wants me to give a second audition test.”

“I ran back and gave a second audition. They all were surprised by the new confident performance a second time. There were thirteen contestants already selected and there was a last spot and that happened to be Pamelaji’s choice and she insisted my case and I can not tell how much I am thankful for that trust, without which I would not have the rarest opportunity to be a part of that esteemed competition that India still talk about.”

The rest is history. Pradip along with Sunidi Chowhan went on to win the prestigious Lata Mangeshkar award for best male singer on the show Meri Awaz Suno.

That is an incredible story, but now let us ask you some general thoughts about your music.

What does your music mean to you?

“Over many years in my career I started music with many other singers, but they all left the music and even can’t sing a note. But for me, I can’t think of leaving my music. Always age will make your ability to sing like when you are young. But for me it is unthinkable to leave my music. When I joined Smule many asked me directly why I am here. For me technology is always exciting and I think this app is a great place for all levels for musicians to be in touch with the current music and keep practicing. For me although music did not bring a lot of fortune unlike many other contemporaries, it doesn’t matter much when I look back My music is solid and it will stay with me.”

Your thoughts on current music and if you want to connect that with respect to relevance of classical music in the present day.

“The way I see it for current film music there is not much relevance for Classical music. The songs and the trends are a lot different than the days where the film music was also very lyrical and raaga rich. Now the singing even is just like saying words. So what I am saying is if one wants to be successful in current days you may not have to be classically strong. But one’s ability to sing perfectly and your songs to be remembered is all proven to be based on talent and practice.”

In our tradition, where music is nurtured as being taught basics of ragas and principles of perfect singing, Is it necessary to be nurtured?

Yes of course. By ansering your previous question, I did not mean that I don’t respect our traditions. Our music is strong because of our traditions of guru shishya sampradaya and will remain in our culture. The musicians who sing live performances still insist on great compositions and try to achieve perfection every time they perform for an audience. It is all not going anywhere or is going to be any less appreciated than before.

Where do you want to be with your  music in the next five years?

“I personally have not set any more goals. But I want to be active with my music and be aware about all modern trends in music until my death. It is that simple, I will never stop or shy away from practicing as long as I can.

Recently the young music director Naveen Madhav, son of Ravindran sir wanted to recreate some of his dad’s classics like “Devasabha thalam”. I want to remain fit with my voice not rusted. I just finished a version for his track and sent it to him.”

In the current music scene there is no way an older generation singer can stand the kind of competition that is going on, So many singers and so many changes like the online scene and its role, all these make it very competitive to pursue an opportunity, Also those type of days are gone.”

Your impressions about the music directors you worked closely with

Ravindran

I have said enough about Ravindran and he was like a guru and friend to me and he gave me the first opportunity to sing professionally. Never can say enough about him about his generosity and mentor ship.

Johnson

Next is Johnson mash. He was a genius as everyone knows him to be capable of doing a composition all by himself since he knew all aspects of a music making. He normally can’t or doesn’t sing the song as it should sound but give a general outline of the song. But many singers who worked for him brought his melody to life under his instruction.

Sandeep Chowta

In Telugu some of the songs I sang for Sandeep Chowta for blockbuster movies like Bujjigadu Made in Chennai and Saleem were top chart-busters.

The other major music director I worked with is Mohan Sithara from Malayalam.Very unique musician from Malayalam.

That was a full two hours talking about quality music and more valuable life lessons, that nowhere else was written in this detail. Being a part of the Smule India community, Pradip Soman sir will be with us encouraging supporting all young singers.He is a peer and support for the official blog page. It was our pleasure to bring this interview with him here to all our readers. A big thanks to Pradip Sir.

END NOTES

A life of struggles and achievements is what makes up a human life. When we spoke with him what stood out specifically was his comments about how he gauge his own career. A big question in mind, is it all about how much wealth one accumulate? For Pradip Somasundaran it was all about his passion for music and the music he created along with some greatest minds of his time. He said that music is with him and will remain for ever. That is what makes his music unique. With that thoughts we leave you all with his major songs (towards the end) and some selected songs from Smule profile for all you guys to listen and enjoy his fabulous voice and singing.

Devanganagal – A class Act of a Johnson master classic Movie Name: Njan Gandharvan (1991)
original Singer: Yesudas K J
Music Director: Johnson
Lyrics: Kaithapram Damodaran Namboothiri
Presenting the song ‘Binte Dil’ Video Song from Padmaavat in the voice of Pradip Soman, Music by Sanjay Leela Bhansali and Lyrics by A M Turaz.
Listen Kannaana Kanney Song with Lyrics From Viswasam New Tamil Movie original Sung by Sid Sriram reproduced by Pradip Soman
Elvis Presley – Can’t Help Falling In Love original score made for the movie Ghost listen in voice of Pradip Soman for Smule
The song Soch Na sake is sung by Amaal Mallik, Arijit Singh & Tulsi Kumar, music composed by Amaal Mallik & penned by Kumaar. Here presented by Pradip Soman on Smule with ShrutiSing2402

Asked about his favorite song Ennakarupin ezhazhagu,  Here is the song for all you guys 

His first playback song for ravindran (Samayam manoharam)

His blockbuster telugu film song (Chitti Aayi re)

His songs for Johnson sir (Muthe Ninne Thedi)

His songs for Mohan sitara (Moham Manassilittu)

References

https://www.thehindu.com/features/friday-review/tribute-to-tirupati-ramanujasuri/article7919311.ece

2 thoughts on “Pradip Somasundaran- Meri Awaaz Suno

  1. Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Spending some time and actual effort to create a superb article… but what can I say… I hesitate a lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.