Em Rossi-A Music of Resilience

Introduction

This is an important step in a direction to bring exclusive interviews with professional singers from all over the world to our readers who are young talents looking to pursue careers in music. The singer we are bringing to our audience is Em Rossi. She is an American singer, whose success story is very much influenced by Smule App. The role played by Smule in her steps toward fame is a very effective example for our young singers. It is our hope that Em’s story inspires a whole young generation of singers all over the world.

It will be a mistake that if we go without thanking Em Rossi for her very kind gesture and a very invigorating discussions that we had. Here is a special video she made for all you guys as part of this feature. Here it is. Give a listen.

Here a little bit introduction about Em Rossi for our readers to know more about her music.

Em’s short bio

For Los Angeles based Em Rossi, an extraordinary singer, a natural-born story-teller, the middle is the beginning, a means to an end. Five years on, Rossi has come to terms with her past, “After going through the loss of my dad, I feel like I’ve lived a lifetime of emotions. I’ve now been able to release those ties and create the new world I live in now. Basically…I feel happy again.

This transition began in early 2018 with the release of “No Longer the Same.” Its swelling chorus, “I’ll see you some day, just know that I’m ok,” was a cathartic turning point, a final door to pass through, this one signaling a new beginning. “This new direction is simply me. I will always carry the things that have happened in my life with me, however, I’m choosing to allow myself to move forward.

Living in the present with eyes fully focused on the future is a formidable force. With 7 million views on YouTube and over 450,000 followers on Smule, the #1 singing app for which she’s one of the top Partner Artists, she has cultivated a loyal worldwide fan base that has helped her rise to #1 on the Trending charts in over a dozen countries (from Australia to Canada to France and Italy).

Fashioning a new path means following one’s heart, knowing that anything is possible. Em Rossi is paving her own path in music.”

Em Rossi

INTERVIEW

This is an exclusive interview that she gave for the blog site; she took so much care for you guys to get the most out of this. Here is her interview in full.

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Especially your childhood memories of singing for the first time, or any family member identify your singing, how did you know you can sing? Growing up from Schools, teenage, forming music influences?

One of my first memories of music was watching my dad play guitar and sing in our living room. The first bits of music I remember listening to were Garth Brooks, Michael Bublé, John Legend, John Mayer, and many more playing on the stereo around the house.

I knew I could sing around the age of seven. My parents noticed me constantly making noise and humming along to the music playing in restaurants or grocery stores. I would also learn songs very fast. It was something that I was extremely drawn to and felt natural to me.  However, I was terrified of anyone finding out about it. The first time anyone really heard me sing was at a dinner party that my parents were holding. Somehow, they talked me into it so I sang “If I Ain’t Got You” by Alicia Keys standing in the corner of the room, my back to everyone at the table, looking at the paint marks on the wall.

For years my family members were the only ones who knew I could sing. I was always the quiet, tomboy, sports player around school. It wasn’t until I was fourteen and began working in the studio that anyone else found out about my love for music.

Role of any family members, teachers in music a major mentor if any.

Both of my parents were major influences on me. I have so many memories of waking up to my dad playing guitar on the weekends or the late-night sing-along around the fire when we went camping with family friends. The two of them were always open and curious about all forms of art. They made sure to share that world with my brother and I.

My vocal coach back in my hometown was my first real mentor. I found my passion for music singing Broadway show tunes and Classical ballads with her at the piano. She really was one of the first people outside my family that I was comfortable opening up to and singing in front of.

Lastly, the group Club Nouveau was a huge inspiration to me. They opened the door and gave me the chance to start pursuing a music career. I would go to their studio after school when I was 14. They were the first ones who showed me how to record and make music.

When did you start thinking that music as a main career and Why?

Those sessions with Club Nouveau was the first time I thought about it. After my parents and I agreed that this was something we were going to dive into, they took me to LA for the first time to begin connecting with others in the industry. Soon after was when my dad passed away. I had to step back from everything. I had no clue how it was going to be possible for me to focus on music as my family was trying to pick up the pieces. However, I had a strong sense in my gut that I couldn’t let it go. Six months later, my mom and I got in the car, drove to LA again, and started back up from there. After all these years, I still use the love and support of my dad and family as a major driving force towards accomplishing my goals in music

When decided to take music professionally, what were your steps towards making that break, of course good singing, but that alone may not get one out there. So, for the new singers looking up to you on Smule is there any advice?

We knew from the very start that one of, if not, the most important components in moving my career forward was to begin by building a presence on social media. I started posting covers to YouTube, filming my own behind the scenes videos, and sharing clips taken in the studio. I was still in high school and didn’t have any means to go on the road and tour or spend long periods of time in Los Angeles. Sharing content through social media platforms gave me the chance to grow and have my voice be heard.

I released my first single “Earthquake” after I had just turned 17. Shortly after, we ran into a family friend of ours who told us about a San Francisco based tech company named Smule. We got in contact with some of the team members and they agreed to officially release “Earthquake” on the app. Watching the first collabs that people made of themselves singing my own song in their bedrooms around the world absolutely blew my mind. I just stuck with it and enjoyed making videos on the app. I couldn’t have ever imagined that Smule would be the international community it is today. It’s the platform that has helped me create a large following and connection to fans around the world.

What I would say to other singers on Smule is to be consistent, hardworking, open minded, and to never yield on their passion and belief in themselves. You have to stand up for yourself because no one else will fight for it as much as you.

American pop music have influenced a world beyond its borders, we have ragtime, blues, jazz, swing, rock, bluegrass, country, R&B, doo wop, gospel, soul, funk, heavy metal, punk, disco, house, techno, salsa, grunge and hip hop. Could you comment about from where you started seeing music seriously to now, is the growth of these vast styles is going in a good direction? or you think some of the new trends are not so great for the nurture? You may pick any one or two styles from above and use some examples to substantiate your comments.

You could argue and say a specific song formatively was written or produced poorly. However, I don’t believe that one is good or bad music but rather something for the individual to decide if they like based on their own tastes.

The idea of genre blending in today’s music is incredibly exciting to me. It was a huge influence in me discovering my own sound by incorporating my love for classical, synth pop, jazz, etc. all together into what felt like a representation of myself.

I think music that is released at the current point in time will always be in some way a representation of the social climate. At the end of the day we are all just trying to figure our own worlds out. Music is the narration to that world or even the cathartic release from it. It comes down to a person’s own reaction to a song so, as an artist, I can only make the music that is true to me. Where it goes I can’t predict but I do hope it could brighten someone’s day.

Is the last centuries new trends like punk, heavy metal are good for music? Do you like any particular singer or group of any of these styles? if not why? Interested to know as a new generation singer how you see these extremes of modernization of American Pop.

I honestly have never been into punk or heavy metal. I have nothing against it. It’s never been something I think of listening to. I guess I could say that’s because I love the energy of jazz grooves, the brightness of 80’s dance music, driving beats in synth pop, and so on. I think my ears are just naturally tuned to those styles and sounds.

It is the age where YouTube create new stars. When such a star comes is the general serious singers look down upon these singers, because they did not come from any proper school of music education or nurture? Is there such a trend in the industry? if so do you support those thoughts?

As someone who has used social media as a major stepping stone in my career I could definitely refer to myself as an influencer. If there ever is any negative perceptions towards influencers I think it is usually because of a lack of understanding the changing times. For the general person, social media is simply entertainment or a break from the average job at a desk or corporate office. They only ever see or engage in it as a release rather than work itself. Having a career on social media involves a lot more responsibilities than meets the eyes. If an influencer is true to themselves and artistically motivated and involved, then why shouldn’t we support them?

Have you learned or studied American classical music? (I know you did) and your thoughts on its evolution over the past? if so what is your take on music made for an example “A Fifth of Bethovan” by Walter Murphy? it is the very first of its kind where he uses disco style for a real classical music? What do you think of such experimentation? Is it good?

When I was younger, I trained my voice with my vocal instructor by singing a lot of classically based music. I definitely wouldn’t say I am a completely versed professional on all forms, history, or theory but I’ve always been incredibly inspired by and have learned the base of my musicality from classical music. I love the tonal contrasts of musical instruments in orchestral pieces as well as the ability to tell a story in its rises and falls. I always try to think about where I need to take the vocal melody in a song as I write it, where the dynamics of my voice should be used as I record it, how the mix will enhance the balance of the production elements, and so on.

I think any experimentation in music is good and should always be explored. It’s what makes being creative diverse and spontaneous. 

It is a very well-known fact that American pop music culture have deep roots in African American music and still looking back many great American singers are black Americans. Yet what is your stand on when we hear about the discrimination in awards decisions and such acts?

It doesn’t matter what race, gender, religion, or orientation you identify with, at the end of the day we are all human. Everyone deserves to be treated equally, given equal opportunity, and be spoken to with respect.

Now is all about your music. So, from your short bio it looks like, for you each song that you wrote is very personal. As an artist, your music seem reflects always so personal feelings. What makes you write a song and sing?

I used to write these weird essays like journal entries as a teenager. They eventually turned into poems and, with time, became songs. My head is constantly going so putting my crazy analytics and thoughts on paper helped me get it out. I think what excites me the most right now with making music is the spontaneous discoveries in coming up with a great melody, finding a different way to express a topic that’s been on your mind, and being given the freedom to make the production sound like how I imagined it in my head. 

You specifically mentioned about the loss of your Dad, what role does he play when you were growing up? and how he influenced you develop as a singer?

My dad was my rock. I inherited my artistic side from him. We grew extremely close since we could understand each other and relate in our personal interests. As I wrote earlier, I was extremely shy about sharing my music and voice with others. When I was given the chance to begin in the industry, I almost didn’t take it because I was too scared. He was the first one that got me to believe in myself because I trusted his belief in me. I definitely think that I have taken his loss and used it as a means to grow stronger and persevere through all of the hardships. He was and forever will be that driving force to me.

You mentioned you want to go on a world tour. So, you go to India for example, how would you know what to sing? How would one prepare for a world tour?

One of my biggest goals with music has always been to travel the world through music. As I am currently working on the next chapter of music, I am also writing my songs with the thought of how I’d perform them on stage. I hope I get the chance to make a proper show someday. In preparing for it, I would probably end up living at my vocal coaches’ house until she couldn’t stand me anymore to get my vocal endurance and technique in check, work on making the show flow and sound how I want, and then rehearse, rehearse, rehearse.

Do you know any musician from India personally? or Do you know about India’s popular music?

I am not familiar with any Indian musicians. However, I have been lucky to connect with many Indian fans and users on Smule. I’d love to see India someday and learn more about its culture.

Now you are climbing the success ladder very rapidly and where do you see your career in five years?

I am always looking to better my craft and myself as a person. I hope to connect and share my music with more people around the world.

Please tell us about your favorite singers, both male and female singers.

For female singers, Adele and Sara Bareilles were my two obsessions growing up. I loved their strength, styles, and vocal tones. I definitely hear bits of my music drawing back to all of the songs I would sing from them. Over the last few years, I’ve been big fans of Dua Lipa and Taylor Swift.

A few of my favorite male singers are Matt Corby, Troye Sivan, and Tom Odell. Troye’s Blue Neighborhood album was an important inspiration for me in discovering how I could create my own sound in Pop music. I always find myself going back and listening to Tom Odell. His music is timeless to my ears. Matt Corby’s voice is absurd. I can’t say any more about it because it is absolute goals.

In many parts of Asia music lyrics are written by poets and music is given by a music director and a singer’s only job is to sing the song to the satisfaction of music director. What do you think about this system still practiced in India and other Asia countries.

Being as I’m a US artist, I don’t know the systems in place for the other music industries around the world. I think it’s okay if an artist doesn’t write their own music. However, I definitely think they should be involved in what is said within the song and how it is then portrayed to their audience. For me, I just never felt like I would be the artist I’ve always wanted to be unless I wrote my own music. Writing is a challenging craft to learn but if you keep working on it and find a passion for it you will understand how truthful and accurate that music will then be to who you are.

Could you take us through a typical day for you?

Every day is very different for me. However, on simpler days or day offs, I love waking up and going for a morning run or long walk with my dog, being a homebody, reading, songwriting, singing for fun, and especially getting out around nature as much as I can since I live by the ocean.

How do you prepare yourself before singing?

I’m always mindful of the importance of vocal health. I warm up a little as I wake up, watch the types of food I eat, try not to ever yell, stay hydrated, etc. Prior to singing I feel out where my throat and ears are that day. I’ll drink tea and start easing into warm ups until my voice begins to open. I’m annoyingly sensitive to allergies so sometimes my ears can be stuffy, or I can get some lovely phlegm. I make sure to warm up through those and stay focused on my vocal approaches and placements.

What is the role of your mom/other siblings in your life?

My mom and my older brother are the two closest people I have in my life. My family is very small, so we always make sure to stay close and in constant contact. My mom is my best friend and has managed me since I started music. I wouldn’t be where I am today without her working alongside me and having my back.

How do you go about making a new music?

I first look for inspiration and listen to loads of songs. I like to have a clear idea as to the type of song I want to make. It helps give me a place to start. I’ll sit around on my piano until a melody I like comes out, smooth it over, figure out what I want to talk about, brainstorm lyrics, and then take it all into the studio to tweak to production and finish with my producer.

What is your knowledge on other forms of music, for example world music?

I honestly don’t pay strict attention to the technicalities involved in specific genres. You’ll naturally take some of it in the more you listen, but I prefer to look at the feeling a song itself brings.

Although American music is popular with people who are educated abroad, when it comes to ask a common man still the only singer many know for sure is Michael Jackson. So, aiming to become popular all across the world what have you learned so far from such great legendary singers? You may pick any other singer of your choice.

I think authenticity is the most important characteristic that I’ve seen with artists who have had success across the world. If you express yourself truthfully and are respectful and open, then people who are interested and also care about those values will want to connect and hear what you have to say.

A Philosophical question. What is music to you

To me, music is the physical expression of a person, feeling, memory, or emotion.

If that answered what do you want to do with your music further? (Now you are singing and making your own music. So now what are your challenges?)

As a cliché thing to say, I hope people have a connection with my music. Writing music that is fun and uplifting yet tells my story has been a big focus for me with this new chapter of music. It was my goal to have a great time making it, so I hope people have a great time listening to it. If they are inspired or use it as a means of self-reflection or discovery, then that would be everything and more.

What are your thoughts on philanthropy? Are you passionate about any specific causes and have done any such activities?

I have partnered with organizations such as Big Brothers Big Sisters and The Walk to End Alzheimer’s over the years. Both my mom and I are very interested in wanting to discover more about philanthropic work in the future. I think of my music as a catalyst to being able to hopefully explore and educate myself on many more avenues,

Last but the least what are your thoughts about our blog efforts? we believe there is no other country on Smule have done such an effort to support young singers.

I think it is amazing what you have done here with this blog! The Smule community around the world and especially those in India are such a generous and loyal group of people. I’m grateful for everyone’s support. Thank you for having me be a part of this.

Here are other recognitions for EM ROSSI

Accepted to Berklee School of Music; Song placements in movies; In-flight Playlisting on American and United Airlines. TV and radio appearances. National Anthem singer for professional sporting events, i.e. NFL Los Angeles Chargers Opened for Juno Award winning group, The Tenors.

END NOTES

Life is full of unexpected surprises. When we write about a young successful singer like Em Rossi, what strikes most is her resilience. Sweet is the other word that goes for Em, for sure. She make these Connect with Em Rossi videos on Smule and talk with her audience and make sure she shout out several aspiring young singers. Never had a badge to drive her attention to me when she responded first on her vlog; tenacity and patience to know the common’s mind is a great value for any artist. During all the interactions, a high level of intelligence and openness to a varied experience was so refreshing. It is the great diverse America that we all know and love about. Here we accept Em as our own and welcome with both hands to the land of great hospitality and cheers. We leave you all with few of her video songs to enjoy.

SOCIAL MEDIA HANDLES FOR EM ROSSI

We encourage all readers to visit her on other social media handles. Also follow her on her Smule profile.

Official Website: http://emrossi.com/

Smule: http://www.smule.com/EmRossi

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emrossimusic/ YouTube: https://bit.ly/2a9WE78 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/emrossimusic/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/emrossimusic

Em Rossi Songs

Em Rossi Music is deep rooted in human emotions. As we heard from her exclusive interview here, she is a brave fighter of the odds. We picked here some of songs that reflects her personal struggles and a gradual process of her growing into the latest song “In the Middle”.

Here in 2019 latest album song “In the middle” is reflection of a state where one try to build up or move on. It is again deeply rooted and arise from the state of human mind when one feel constantly alone in this world, and yet your hope is, that one faith inside of you, make you stay strong. Lyrics of the song like “Show me the words to say”, “to know what I am living for”. A lot of her audience sure relate to her state of mind, am sure that is what she hopes for. A true artist stepping into her prime….

Her first single “Earthquake“. The song is full of powerful imagery that help convey its message; she uses “Earthquake“, as a symbolic representation of what happened in life, yet there at the end, words of hope, ‘Castles made of sand they wash away, but they can be built again stronger‘. The very first song in itself is a winner bringing the intellect in this singer, who knows the art behind song making.

A second favorite – No longer the Same, Often times we all felt like this; everything is falling apart and there is no light at the end of the tunnel. Here, she is picking herself up and try to move on. “The hope is that I will see you someday, and just know that I am ok“. The music and the lyrics live together here. It is not a music made, it feel like it just came into life. Amazing power in its lyrics and emotions filled with excellent vocals.

It is not easy always coping with one’s loss in life. For Em it is all the more expression through her music. In The Middle (Acoustic version)

END THOUGHTS

We leave you all here to follow and listen more to her songs on Smule and YouTube and other links. We wish Em all the best on her current endeavors. Lastly, but not the least a big thanks from our hearts all here at Smule India Blog for this kind gesture to be a part of this humble efforts.

5 thoughts on “Em Rossi-A Music of Resilience

  1. […] Em in the past year was very successful with signing contracts with big music banners and some of the songs Em made last year were amazingly told the story of her maturity as a music writer and song maker. Here is her ‘Got This Feeling‘. In the year 2020; she made yet another single ‘The Other Side‘ last year. On Smule she made history by reaching a mile stone that no other singer had achieved to have a million followers. Way to go Em. Thanks for the opportunity to write about your music. Will look forward to all your future projects. […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Em in the past year was very successful with signing contracts with big music banners and some of the songs Em made last year were amazingly told the story of her maturity as a music writer and song maker. Here is her ‘Got This Feeling‘. In the year 2020 she made yet another single ‘The Other Side‘. On Smule she made history by reaching a mile stone that no other singer had achieved to have a million followers. Way to go Em. Thanks for the opportunity to write about your music. Will look forward to all your future projects. […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.